1965, senators were appointed for life; that act set 75 years as the age at which any person appointed to the Senate after the coming into force of the act would cease to hold

his place in the Senate.

In each of the four main areas of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic provinces and western provinces) except Quebec, senators represent the whole of the province for which they are appointed; in Quebec, one senator is appointed for each of the 24 electoral divisions of what was formerly Lower Canada. The deliberations of the Senate are presided over by a speaker appointed by the Governor-in-Council (in effect by the government) and government business in the Senate is sponsored by the government leader in the Senate.

The Senate's traditional role in legislation originating in the House of Commons is to take a sober second look at such legislation and amend it if necessary; such amendments are often concurred in by the Commons. If representatives of the two houses cannot resolve disagreements arising from Senate amendments, the legislation cannot be further considered.

The Senate provides a national forum for discussion of public issues and airing of grievances from any part of Canada. Through its own committees and its participation in ioint committees of both houses, the Senate is particularly active in making studies in depth on matters of public concern.

Since 1971, Senate committees have been performing a new function, that of studying the subject matter of government bills, including money bills, in advance of their formal introduction in the Senate. Under this procedure, amendments to a bill suggested by a Senate committee are often accepted by the government and by the House of Commons before the bill itself actually reaches the Senate.

In May 1978 the representation in the Senate was as follows:

Newfoundland Eric Cook William John Petten Frederick William Rowe Philip Derek Lewis Jack Marshall 1 vacancy

Prince Edward Island Florence Elsie Inman Orville Howard Phillips Mark Lorne Bonnell 1 vacancy

Nova Scotia Donald Smith Harold Connolly John Michael Macdonald Margaret Norrie Henry D. Hicks Bernard Alasdair Graham Augustus Irvine Barrow Ernest George Cottreau George Isaac Smith 1 vacancy

New Brunswick Fred A. McGrand Edgar Fournier Charles Robert McElman Hervé J. Michaud Michel Fournier Louis-J. Robichaud, PC Daniel Riley Margaret Jean Anderson

2 vacancies

Ouebec Sarto Fournier Hartland de Montarville Molson Josie Alice Dinan Quart Louis Philippe Beaubien Jacques Flynn, PC Maurice Bourget, PC Azellus Denis, PC Jean-Paul Deschatelets, PC Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton, PC J.G. Léopold Langlois Paul Desruisseaux Maurice Lamontagne, PC Raymond Eudes Louis de Gonzague Giguère Paul C. Lafond H. Carl Goldenberg Renaude Lapointe (Speaker) Martial Asselin, PC Maurice Riel Jean Marchand, PC Pietro Rizzuto Joseph Napoléon Claude Wagner 2 vacancies

Ontario Salter Adrian Hayden Norman McLeod Paterson John J. Connolly, PC David A. Croll Joseph A. Sullivan Lionel Choquette Allister Grosart David James Walker, PC Rhéal Bélisle